Lee Child Books: What Reading Order Is Best?

Looking for a list of Jack Reacher books in order?

Good news. You’re in the right place.

You have 3 choices when choosing the reading order for Lee Child’s series of Jack Reacher books:

  1. By Publishing Date
  2. In Chronological Order
  3. No Order At All: Complete Chaos

Want To Read Lee Child’s Books In Order Of Publishing Date?

I recommend reading Jack Reacher books in this order myself.

  1. Killing Floor (1997) [Amazon]
  2. Die Trying (1998) [Amazon]
  3. Tripwire (1999) [Amazon]
  4. Running Blind (2000) [Amazon]
    • UK Title “The Visitor”
  5. Echo Burning (2001) [Amazon]
  6. Without Fail (2002) [Amazon]
  7. Persuader (2003) [Amazon]
  8. The Enemy (2004) [Amazon]
    • Prequel set eight years before Killing Floor
  9. One Shot (2005) [Amazon]
  10. The Hard Way (2006) [Amazon]
  11. Bad Luck and Trouble (2007) [Amazon]
  12. Nothing to Lose (2008) [Amazon]
  13. Gone Tomorrow (2009) [Amazon]
  14. 61 Hours (Spring 2010) [Amazon]
  15. Worth Dying For (Fall 2010) [Amazon]
  16. The Affair (2011) [Amazon]
    • This is another prequel set just before Killing Floor
  17. A Wanted Man (2012) [Amazon]
  18. Never Go Back (2013) [Amazon]
  19. Personal (2014) [Amazon]
  20. Make Me (2015) [Amazon]

Want To Read Lee Child’s Novels In Chronological Order?

  1. The Enemy (2004) [Amazon]
    • Prequel set eight years before Killing Floor
  2. The Affair (2011) [Amazon]
    • This is another prequel set just before Killing Floor
  3. Killing Floor (1997) [Amazon]
  4. Die Trying (1998) [Amazon]
  5. Tripwire (1999) [Amazon]
  6. Running Blind (2000) [Amazon]
    • UK Title “The Visitor”
  7. Echo Burning (2001) [Amazon]
  8. Without Fail (2002) [Amazon]
  9. Persuader (2003) [Amazon]
  10. One Shot (2005) [Amazon]
  11. The Hard Way (2006) [Amazon]
  12. Bad Luck and Trouble (2007) [Amazon]
  13. Nothing to Lose (2008) [Amazon]
  14. Gone Tomorrow (2009) [Amazon]
  15. 61 Hours (Spring 2010) [Amazon]
  16. Worth Dying For (Fall 2010) [Amazon]
  17. A Wanted Man (2012) [Amazon]
  18. Never Go Back (2013) [Amazon]
  19. Personal (2014) [Amazon]
  20. Make Me (2015) [Amazon]

Don’t Care About The Reading Order For Lee Child’s Novels?

That’s ok!

It makes it a bit tricky for keeping track of which ones you’ve read, but Lee Child wrote them in such a way that each stories exists on it’s own.

There are only a handful of references to previous stories and some books have no references at all. So if your reading style is chaos, then go for it. As for me I like publishing order or chronological order.

What about you? Have you read all Lee Child’s books? In what order did you read them?

Have you only recently got addicted to the Lee Child’s novels? What’s your plan for reading order?

Have your say in the comments below.

23 thoughts on “Lee Child Books: What Reading Order Is Best?

  1. Hi, this is great to see the order of the books in two ways. I usually follow the publishing order because it shows the progression of the writer.
    Why do you prefer publishing if the series is out of chronological? Thank you.

    • Publishing order is also my preference because it’s from the perspective of the author. Chronological is interesting though, because it’s from the perspective of the character. Interesting choice to make there 🙂

  2. I’ve just finished the 1st book killing floor and decided I wanted the next book Lee Child published so looks like I’m going in that direction. Killing floor definitely had me hooked I’ve not read a book I can not put down In ages so hoping the next 6 I’ve just bought are the same 🙂

      • Hi Sheldon, I just read both 61 hours and Worth Dying For; and 61 hours ends with unanswered questions that worth dying for doesn’t answer. I believe that was the question. Like how does Reacher survive the explosion? Why didn’t he call her to say he was ok? Exactly how did he receive his injuries that were mentioned throughout Worth Dying For? I feel like the author normal wraps things up better than that.

        • It does tell you. He was clinging to an air shaft, which by chance acted as an “intake” for the air that fueled the explosion. He had to hang on so tight, he strained all dorts of muscles. That’s why he was soooo sore on the beginning of the book.

  3. Do you know which Jack Reacher book/s also include the character Evan Smoak? I see another author is incorporating the character in a new series. I want to read the book where he appears with Reacher.
    Thanks for any assistance

  4. Excellent series. I started reading them in publishing date order, but switched to chronological order to get a better feel for the back story. Any way one chooses, you won’t be disappointed!

  5. There’s also the short stories, and, 1 or 2 of them are missing chapters in some of the books, I can’t remember which ones go with each other but I did read it somewhere

  6. I have read all the Jack Reacher novels with exception of the .5 novels. I see where the new Night School is set prior to Killing Floor. Should it be before the Affiar or between the Affair and The Enemy. Planning to read ALL the series again. Thanks. Maria

  7. I prefer chronological and I really appreciate this site helping me to feed my Reacher craving in a way that does not affect my slight OCD.

    I am almost finished with the series. Any recommendations for similar writers and characters. The Mitch Rapp series is good but I finished that also.

    • Lee Child’s Jack Reacher novels… Different read that Flynn’s (did same as you Flynn first) Very good reads…. and more of them!!

  8. I have gone reading crazy for the last year… I read through Vince Flynn’s novels with Mitch Rapp and loved them. Wish there was more… So I googled what should I read next and here is Lee Child’s “Jack Reacher” I just finished One Shot reading them in publishing date… DAMMM can’t get enough of these stories.. Excellent reading…..

  9. I just discovered this series recently and I’m hooked. Child does this kind of book as well as anyone, and I’ve been reading “hard boiled” and “anti-hero” fiction for 50 years. I started by accident with The Enemy and then read (publication date) nos. 2, 3, and 4. Next I’m going to read the Affair, Killing Floor, and Night School, then continue with the publication date for the rest of the series.

  10. I love reading these stories, Child has developed a character that feels real and too good to be true at the same time which is why I think these stories are popular, that and the fact the the bad guys usually get their comeuppance too (hehehe) So, I started with “The Affair” got hooked, and decided to read them in chronological order. I don’t think it matters much, but that’s just me, logical. I am up to #17 now so chronological meets published.
    Cheers, Mick

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *