Raymond E. Feist Books: What Reading Order Is Best?

I think the best order for reading Raymond E. Feist’s books is in series order.

The alternative is in publishing order (the list is at the bottom), but that can be a bit confusing because the timelines do overlap a bit.

Raymond E. Feist Books In Series Order

  1. The Riftwar Saga: [Amazon]
    • Magician (1982) [Amazon]
      • Later republished in the United States as Magician: Apprentice (1986) [Amazon]
      • and Magician: Master (1986) [Amazon]
    • Sliverthorn (1985) [Amazon]
    • A Darkness at Sethanon (1986) [Amazon]
  2. The Empire Trilogy: [Amazon]
    • Daughter of the Empire (1987) [Amazon] with Janny Wurts
    • Servant of the Empire (1990) [Amazon] with Janny Wurts
    • Mistress of the Empire (1992) [Amazon] with Janny Wurts
  3. Krondor’s Sons: [Amazon]
  4. The Serpentwar Saga: [Amazon]
    • Shadow of a Dark Queen (1994) [Amazon]
    • Rise of a Merchant Prince )1995) [Amazon]
    • Rage of a Demon King (1997) [Amazon]
    • Shards of a Broken Crown (1998) [Amazon]
  5. The Riftwar Legacy: [Amazon]
    • Krondor: The Betrayal (1998) [Amazon]
    • Krondor: The Assassins (1999) [Amazon]
    • Krondor: Tear of the Goods (2000) [Amazon]
    • Jimmy and the Crawler (2013) [Amazon]
      • A novella replacing the planned novels Krondor: The Crawler and Krondor: The Dark Mage
  6. Legends of the Riftwar: [Amazon]
    • Honoured Enemy (2001) [Amazon] with William R. Forstchen
    • Murder in LaMut (2002) [Amazon] with Joel Rosenberg
    • Jimmy the Hand (2003) [Amazon] with S. M. Stirling
  7. Conclave of Shadows: [Amazon]
  8. The Darkwar Saga: [Amazon]
  9. The Demonwar Saga: [Amazon]
  10. The Chaoswar Saga: [Amazon]
  11. The Fireman Saga:
    • King of Ashes (2018) [Amazon]
    • Queen of Storms (2020) [Amazon]
    • Master of Furies (working title; TBA) [Amazon]

All Raymond E. Feist Books By Publishing Date

Here’s the list of all Raymond E. Feist’s books ordered by publishing date. I don’t recommend this reading order myself for new fans, even though there are only a few series overlaps.

  1. Magician: Apprentice (1986) [Amazon]The Riftwar Saga #1
  2. Magician: Master (1986) [Amazon] The Riftwar Saga #2
  3. Sliverthorn (1985) [Amazon] The Riftwar Saga #3
  4. A Darkness at Sethanon (1986) [Amazon] The Riftwar Saga #4
  5. Daughter of the Empire (1987) [Amazon] with Janny Wurts The Empire Trilogy #1
  6. ervant of the Empire (1990) [Amazon] with Janny Wurts The Empire Trilogy #2
  7. Mistress of the Empire (1992) [Amazon] with Janny Wurts The Empire Trilogy #3
  8. Prince of the Blood (1989) [Amazon] Krondor’s Sons #1
  9. The King’s Buccaneer (1992) [Amazon] Krondor’s Sons #2
  10. Shadow of a Dark Queen (1994) [Amazon] The Serpentwar Saga #1
  11. Rise of a Merchant Prince (1995) [Amazon] The Serpentwar Saga #2
  12. Rage of a Demon King (1997) [Amazon] The Serpentwar Saga #3
  13. Shards of a Broken Crown (1998) [Amazon] The Serpentwar Saga #4
  14. Krondor: The Betrayal (1998) [Amazon] The Riftwar Legacy #1
  15. Krondor: The Assassins (1999) [Amazon]  The Riftwar Legacy #2
  16. Krondor: Tear of the Goods (2000) [Amazon]  The Riftwar Legacy #3
  17. Jimmy and the Crawler (2013) [Amazon]  The Riftwar Legacy #4
  18. Honoured Enemy (2001) [Amazon] with William R. Forstchen Legends of the Riftwar #1
  19. Murder in LaMut (2002) [Amazon] with Joel Rosenberg Legends of the Riftwar #2
  20. Jimmy the Hand (2003) [Amazon] with S. M. Stirling Legends of the Riftwar #3
  21. alon of the Silver Hawk (2002) [Amazon] Conclave of Shadows #1
  22. King of Foxes (2003) [Amazon] Conclave of Shadows #2
  23. Exile’s Return (2004) [Amazon] Conclave of Shadows #3
  24. light of the Nighthawks (2005) [Amazon] The Darkwar Saga #1
  25. Into a Dark Realm (2006) [Amazon] The Darkwar Saga #2
  26. Wrath of a Mad God (2008) [Amazon] The Darkwar Saga #3
  27. Rides a Dread Legion (2009) [Amazon] The Demonwar Saga #1
  28. At the Gates of Darkness (2010) [Amazon] The Demonwar Saga #2
  29. A Kingdom Besieged (2011) [Amazon] The Chaoswar Saga #1
  30. A Crown Imperiled (2012) [Amazon] The Chaoswar Saga #2
  31. Magician’s End (2013) [Amazon] The Chaoswar Saga #3
  32. King of Ashes (2018) [Amazon] The Fireman Saga #1
  33. Queen of Storms (2020) [Amazon] The Fireman Saga #2
  34. Master of Furies (working title; TBA) [Amazon] The Fireman Saga #3

Your Thoughts?

Have you read all the Raymond E. Feist books?

What order did you read them?

Have you only recently got addicted to the Raymond’s books?

What’s your plan for the reading order?

Let us know in the comments section below.

12 thoughts on “Raymond E. Feist Books: What Reading Order Is Best?

  1. I was wondering about “Riftwar Saga / Krondor / Dark Mage. I saw one ONE note somewhere it is not yet released but not only can I not find the first note, I can’t find anything else.

    I promise I didn’t make it up– have you heard of it?

  2. Do you know when the next instalment of the King of Ashes – The Fireman Saga Volume 2 by Raymond Feist is expected. Many thanks.

  3. Late to the party as per but am sure glad i’ve made it never been one for reading apart from on hols. Well what a surprise i’m totally hooked and can’t put them down 7 books in. wow what a mind this guy must have. Can’t stop need to read.

  4. We started a new holiday tradition in my family of gifting books to open on Christmas Eve. I went on Amazon to look into some of interest and came across Feist and his Magician book. He was added to my list. I finished it within a week while on Holiday, and am currently working a little slower on the second one. They are fantastic. One I start it is hard to put down. I find the characters interesting and have no idea where the story will go, but I am enjoying the journey.

  5. Just passed this of if curiosity: you should read the Krondor/The Riftwar Legacy books before Krondor’s Sons and Serpentwar.
    It’s before them in the life time line. Whilst their contribution to big picture is arguable (I’d argue for), their contribution to the characters is not. It would be a shame to read them out of order of the main characters’s timelines.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *