Jeffrey Archer Books: What Reading Order Is Best?

Take a quick look at the list of Jeffrey Archer books sorted by publishing date below.

You may notice that Archer’s writing career has gone through 3 phases:

  1. He started with the Kane and Abel series
  2. then, for 27 years wrote stand-alone books
  3. And then started a series that is now up to its 6th book

You could read his work in that order, by publishing date from oldest to newest, but I propose the following reading order instead:

  1. His Stand-alone Novels
  2. then, the Clifton Chronicles
  3. then, the Kane and Abel Series

Jeffrey Archer’s Stand-alone Novels

  1. Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less (1976) [Amazon]
  2. First Among Equals (1984) [Amazon]
  3. A Matter of Honour (1986) [Amazon]
  4. As the Crow Flies (1991) [Amazon]
  5. Honour Among Thieves (1993) [Amazon]
  6. The Fourth Estate (1996) [Amazon]
  7. The Eleventh Commandment (1998) [Amazon]
  8. Sons of Fortune (2002) [Amazon]
  9. False Impression (2005) [Amazon]
  10. The Gospel According to Judas [Amazon]
    • by Benjamin Iscariot With Francis J.
  11. Moloney (2007) [Amazon]
  12. A Prisoner of Birth (2008) [Amazon]
  13. Paths of Glory (2009) [Amazon]
  14. Heads You Win (2018) [Amazon]

Jeffrey Archer’s Clifton Chronicles Series

  1. Only Time Will Tell (2011) [Amazon]
  2. The Sins of the Father (2012) [Amazon]
  3. Best Kept Secret (2013) [Amazon]
  4. Be Careful What You Wish For (2014) [Amazon]
  5. Mightier Than the Sword (2015) [Amazon]
  6. Cometh the Hour (2016) [Amazon]

Jeffrey Archer’s Kane and Abel Series

  1. Shall We Tell the President? (1977) [Amazon]
    • Revised in 1986
  2. Kane and Abel (1979) [Amazon]
  3. The Prodigal Daughter (1982) [Amazon]

All Jeffrey Archer’s Books by Publishing Date

  1. Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less (1976) [Amazon]
  2. Shall We Tell the President? (1977) [Amazon]
    • Kane and Abel #1
  3. Kane and Abel (1979) [Amazon]
    • Kane and Abel #2
  4. The Prodigal Daughter (1982) [Amazon]
    • Kane and Abel #3
  5. First Among Equals (1984) [Amazon]
  6. A Matter of Honour (1986) [Amazon]
  7. As the Crow Flies (1991) [Amazon]
  8. Honour Among Thieves (1993 [Amazon]
  9. The Fourth Estate (1996) [Amazon]
  10. The Eleventh Commandment (1998) [Amazon]
  11. Sons of Fortune (2002) [Amazon]
  12. False Impression (2005) [Amazon]
  13. The Gospel According to Judas [Amazon]
    • by Benjamin Iscariot With Francis J.
  14. Moloney (2007) [Amazon]
  15. A Prisoner of Birth (2008) [Amazon]
  16. Paths of Glory (2009) [Amazon]
  17. Only Time Will Tell (2011) [Amazon]
    • Clifton Chronicles #1
  18. The Sins of the Father (2012) [Amazon]
    • Clifton Chronicles #2
  19. Best Kept Secret (2013) [Amazon]
    • Clifton Chronicles #3
  20. Be Careful What You Wish For (2014) [Amazon]
    • Clifton Chronicles #4
  21. Mightier Than the Sword (2015) [Amazon]
    • Clifton Chronicles #5
  22. Cometh the Hour (2016) [Amazon]
    • Clifton Chronicles #6
  23. Heads You Win (2018) [Amazon]

Your Thoughts?

What do you think of the reading order I’ve suggested? Agree? Disagree?

Have your say in the comments section below.


16 thoughts on “Jeffrey Archer Books: What Reading Order Is Best?”

  1. Thanks for the research on Jeffrey Archer and other authors It’s been very helpful. You’ve done a great job!

  2. Thank you for this list. I have only just recently discovered Mr. Jeffrey Archer and now I am a huge fan! I love the way he tells a story…he gets me hooked right away! I find it hard to put the book down once I get into it. I also wasn’t sure if there was a particular order to the Clifton Chronicles, so thank you for this list.

    1. lucky you! I’ve been reading his books since the 80s so it must be wonderful to have discovered him with such a back catalogue to catch up on

  3. I have not read any of Jeffrey Archer’s books, so the comments here are very helpful. I really like Daniel Silva’s books whose “hero” is Gabriel Allon; he works for Israeli intelligence, but not Mossad. His books definitely have to be read in order.

  4. If Cometh the Hour is considered the penultimate,which of the books is conidered the ultimate?

  5. I must point out your error in the 3 phases of Archer’s books – No 3 ‘now up to it’s sixth book’. We all know surely that this reads ‘it is sixth book’. A common error but not by one in the literary field.
    Sorry I was a school teacher!

  6. I have just discovered your website. I have been a fan of Jeffrey Archer’s for years, starting with the first book I read about 25 years ago, As the Crow Flies. You listed this as a stand-alone book, but I am thinking that I read three or four books that followed the same family after the “Crow” book. Am I wrong?

  7. Hi I think this is a neat idea! I am in process of Clearing out my books,due downsizing, i happen to pickup Jeffery Archers book”Kane and Abel”and can’t put it down ,I was googling trying to find out his other books,and ran across your page! Good Job!

  8. thank you for the information on this and I would rather go in the order that you have them too and nice I too have just started reading Jeffrey Archer’s books because Heather Graham I’m getting a registered about every book she has on the Krewel hunters. so I need to start with another mystery book that I like mysteries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *